President, VP, PM, Sonia witness Dussehra celebrations at Delhi's Subhash Maidan

New Delhi, Oct.24 (ANI): President Pranab Mukherjee, Vice-President Mohammad Hamid Ansari, Prime Minister Manmohan Singh and Congress president Sonia Gandhi attended the culmination of the annual Dussehra celebrations at the Subhash Maidan in the capital on Wednesday. The VIPS, who arrived as per protocol and amidst tight security arrangements, offered homage to statues of Lord Ram, his wife Sita and brother Lakshman, and performed the traditional aarti with lit lamps. They also applied vermilion streaks tothe foreheads of the dieties. They were then escorted to a flower bedecked stage and garlanded with flowers by the organisers of the event. Each VIP was also presented with a gift. Among the other important guests present were the Lt. Governor of Delhi Tejinder Khanna, Delhi Chief Minister Sheila Dikshit and Union Minister and local MP Kapil Sibal. The VIPS used the ceremonial bow and arrow to
start off the proceedings and celebrations in which the three cracker-laden effigies of demons - Ravana, Kumbhakarna and Meghdoot were set  alight. The atmosphere in  the ground was one of traditional gaiety, fun, frolic. Some of the participants were seen carrying and waving green, orange and white balloons. The effigies were set on fire at around 6.15 in the evening with commoners shouting Shri Ramchandra ki Jai amid Vedic chants in the background. Dussehra is the culmination of Navaratis in India. Popularly known as Vijayadashmi, Dussehra is celebrated with great enthusiasm, all over India. It is observed differently in different parts of the country,depending upon the legend that is followed in each region. In North India, Ramlila forms the  highlight of Dusshera, while in south India, it is the triumph of Goddess Durga over  Mahishasura that is celebrated. Eastern state of West Bengal has its own story connected to the festival, while in Mysore the concept of Shami tree is centered. Learn about the celebrations of Dussehra in different parts of India, by going through the following lines. (ANI), Source: News Track IndiaImage:

comments powered by Disqus